Transitions Graduation & Beatrix’s Story

Beatrix at the Transitions graduation

Beatrix at the Transitions graduation

This week, another class of participants graduated from our Transitions program, which is for males and females (including transgendered individuals) who have experienced sexual exploitation or been involved in the sex trade.

Participants receive pre-employment and life management skills with the goal of moving into mainstream employment or education.

The program includes financial literacy, Basic Shelf cooking program, work experience, bus passes, counselling services, relapse prevention, cultural activities, Women in Motion, impacts of prostitution, relationship and family dynamics, skills development, career development, exposure courses and further education.

Beatrix, one of the graduates, took a moment to speak about her time in the program:

Coming to this program, I still carried a lot of shame and guilt. This program helped me realize that my past and the things that I’ve experienced – prostitution, drug addiction, domestic violence – didn’t make me who I was. I’m still a human being. Transitions gave me my self-esteem back.

And I don’t live in the past anymore. I’m living in the present. My facilitator here taught us that. So that’s really helped me. At first I argued with him about it – you don’t know what I’ve been through, all that. But it really made sense because living in the past can hold you back.

There’s a lot of honesty and unconditional love and acceptance at DECSA. You walk up and down the halls – the facilitators and participants and even staff in other programs, we all see each other and smile every day. And there’s kindness and there’s gentleness and there’s no judgement.

I’ve been in a lot of programs before, but Transitions has turned my life around. I got accepted to Yellowhead Tribal College. I start tomorrow, doing upgrading for the social work program that I’m going to take. I got a scholarship. I had a lot of fear about it. I still have some fears now, but that’s normal, right? Because more and more, I’m embracing the confidence and passion.

I’m not ashamed of my past anymore. I have a voice and I’m a woman who will use my past to help in any way I can. This is what Transitions did for me – I am so grateful to DECSA. And now I’m genuinely happy. Hiy Hiy!

To enroll in the Transitions program, you do not need a referral. Call us at (780) 474-2500 or visit us at 11515 – 71 Street to take the first step away from sexual exploitation and towards a better future.

Thank you to Beatrix for contributing to this blog post.

Posted on September 5, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

